New Speed Traffic Restrictions Take Effect July 11


New York City’s Department of Transportation speed camera program was expanded on July 11. The program will involve installation of 40 cameras each month through the end of the year. This will allow the city to reach its goal of installing 750 speed cameras in school zones throughout all five boroughs.

 Expansion of the program also includes the time in which speed cameras will be operational for vehicles to be tracked. Enforcement times will be from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. and fines of $50 will be issued to violators who go past the speed camera 10 miles above the posted 25 miles per hour.

Speed cameras have reduced the number of collisions since the program was implemented in 2014 to 140 school zones throughout the city. Be safe and drive carefully this summer.